How does flurry of blows work
Your access to this energy is represented by a number of ki points. Your monk level determines the number of points you have, as shown in the Ki Points column of the Monk table.
You can spend these points to fuel various ki features. You learn more ki features as you gain levels in this class. When you spend a ki point, it is unavailable until you finish a short or Long Rest , at the end of which you draw all of your expended ki back into yourself. You must spend at least 30 minutes of the rest meditating to regain your ki points. Some of your ki features require your target to make a saving throw to resist the feature's Effects. Hit Die. Unarmored Defense , Martial Arts.
Ki, Unarmored Movement. Monastic Tradition, Deflect Missiles. Ability Score Improvement , Slow Fall. Extra Attack , Stunning Strike.
Evasion , Stillness of Mind. Ability Score Improvement. Unarmored Movement improvement. Viewed 1k times. I was recently pointed out, Flurry of Blows says: A monk must use a full attack action to strike with a flurry of blows. Now, after some digging I see three possible cases, and I'm not sure which one is correct: I was right, and Flurry of Blows is a full-attack with some bonus attacks described by class-feature itself, as well as any other potential bonus attacks which all should qualify for Flurry of Blows restrictions.
As a 'backup' for this version there is a table of a monk class calling attack bonuses of all attacks a monk makes using Flurry of Blows "Flurry of Blows Attack Bonus". I think you got a point. Another 'proof' is a Fist of the Forest example statblock, which excludes bite attack from the whole routine because it isn't an unarmed strike or a monk weapon.
Yes I know, statblocks are secondary. Still, better then nothing, I guess? Widly throuout the net it is assumed that Flurry of Blows is "An attack routine of a main hand with bonus attacks granted by class-feature itself". Frankly, the 'proof' here is the same as above, just read differently - the table entry taken literally. To me it was obvious, they just taken the simpliest case to place into a table attack routine with no other bonus attacks than those, given by the class-feature, table entry was describing.
But at least some people claim that without a declaration of intent we can't be sure what an intent was and we are left with what is actually printed in the table. Another 'proofs' are various FAQ entries, which expicitly allow natural attacks, for example, to be added after the Flurry of Blows in the same full-attack. Flurry of Blows consists of only those bonus attacks class-feature itself gives you , and all other attacks in a full-attack a monk makes are just regular attacks.
FAQ rulings are also mentioned to support this point of view. Improve this question. There are others, including the possibility of adding natural weapon attacks to the same full-attack.
Restrictions and X1 Str bonus. Show 2 more comments. Active Oldest Votes. Here's why: When unarmored, a monk may strike with a flurry of blows at the expense of accuracy. This does not help much one way or the other When using flurry of blows, a monk may attack only with unarmed strikes or with special monk weapons kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham. This still does not help one way or another since "or" She may attack with unarmed strikes and special monk weapons interchangeably as desired.
Improve this answer. Wannabe Warlock Wannabe Warlock 5, 1 1 gold badge 8 8 silver badges 36 36 bronze badges. I had gotten the impression that you were including those attacks as well, since you seemed to emphasize so much that the references to multiple attacks in flurry of blows indicates that it applies to the entire full-attack, i. Clarification on that would greatly improve the answer. Those other abilities are things that you can do when you take a full attack action. Flurry doesn't say it restricts any feats.
Basically my read is that it replaces the standard full attack with the flurry of blows maneuver. However I see nothing that prohibits moving between your action and your bonus action or even between the attacks granted by Flurry. So what you could do is move 5 ft, make your first attack, move 5 ft, make your extra attack, move 5 ft, make your first Flurry attack, move 5 ft, make your second Flurry attack, move the remainder of your movement. Granted, unless you have the Mobile feat, or those are all killing blows, you're probably looking at 4 opportunity attacks Last edited: Aug 13, Ack -- totally missed that part on Flurry of Blows as a bonus action.
I know this has been down for awhile, but here's a revival My question is this A level 5 Monk, uses 1st Action to attack a creature. Then with "extra attack" attacks another creature for 2nd attack. Then uses bonus action for unarmed strike for an attack a 3rd time.
Because "Extra Attack" says " Groggen Villager. The Extra Attack adds one "strike" to your Attack action, which means you can take the Attack action for one or two "strikes". Your Bonus action does not benefit from the Extra Attack feature. NotActuallyTim First Post. Sorry, the Bonus Action unarmed strike in the Martial Arts section of the Monk class doesn't state that it benefits from the Extra Attack feature.
The Extra Attack feature also says that it changes the Attack action, and has nothing to say about Bonus Actions. Finally, if the Martial Arts bonus action gave the Monk 2 attacks after every Attack Action, the Flurry of Blows feature would be completely redundant. Click to expand Just a couple of things to note: 1. It's not "Bonus" Action it's "Bonus Action. The Reaction is granted when your character reacts to things, for example Attacks of Opportunity. This is where the old "1 AoO a turn" is hidden, because you only get 1 Reaction until it's your go again.
The Bonus Action is where a lot of people trip up, because they see Bonus and don't read it as a label It could be called Sasquatch Typhoon and still have the same effect.
Your fellow Monk gets to spend 1 Ki to flurry of blows after taking an Attack Action, this is when it technically gets tricky. So you could Move 10', attack, move 5', extra attack, move 20'. But the tricky part is it says immediately after you take the attack action. Personally I'd let your friend do this: 1 After his first attack he can spend Ki to flurry of blows, and define "taking the attack action" as being when you make your first attack roll.
If you use Martial Arts there is no timing involved with the Bonus Action, so you could easily allow your friend to Move, Attack, Move, Extra Attack, Move, Bonus Attack with Martial Arts against 3 separate foes the lack of immediately would easily allow this, even if some people interpret the rules differently. So ultimately the Monk can achieve 2 Attacks and 1 Flurry of Blows for a total of 4 attacks in a round, 3 of which occur at the same time and you are free to rule they must all attack the same foe too!
Staffan Legend. So basically, the turn of a 5th level or higher monk attacking looks like this: 1. Move up to your speed - either before, after, or in between attacks. Attack as your action, making two strikes with a monk weapon or an unarmed strike. Bonus action - one of these alternatives: 3a: One extra attack with your unarmed strike, without paying anything. Note that the monk can only use a monk weapon for the regular attacks, not for the bonus action attacks granted by Martial Arts or Flurry of Blows.
This means that until probably 11th level or maybe 5th if the monk doesn't want to use a staff or a spear two-handed for some reason , these will be slightly inferior. Leugren First Post.
0コメント